1.08 ASBESTOS TRAINING PROVIDER APPROVAL

O Question: Do I intend to be an asbestos training provider?

Why do | need this approval?

The purpose of these approval procedures is to ensure
that the persons requiring asbestos training receive
training that meets certain standards. To become a
Maryland Approved Training Provider, you must apply
for approval of your course. The following types of
initial and review courses may be approved: worker,
supervisor, inspector, management planner, project
designer, foreign language worker, and operations and
maintenance.

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal
authority to issue this approval?

FEDERAL.: Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response
Act (10/22/86) which contained several provisions, one
of which is TITLE Il of the Toxic Substances Act
(TSCA) 15 U.S.C. sections 2641 through 2654. Section
206 of Title 11, 15 U.S.C. section 2646 required the
EPA to issue by April of 1987, a final model
accreditation plan (MAP) for those persons who
inspect for asbestos, develop management plans, and
conduct or design response actions. States were
required to develop their accreditation plan 180 days
after their next legislative session (subsequent to April
30, 1987). The MAP was revised in February 1994
and extended provisions of the MAP to certain
activities in public and commercial buildings.

STATE: Environment Article 8§6-401 and 6-417.
COMAR 26.11.23: School Asbestos Accreditation and
Approval of Training Courses published as final
regulations 9/16/91. These were revised effective
8/24/98 to comply with the revised MAP. Operations
and Maintenance (O&M) courses are covered under
COMAR 26.11.21, Control of Asbestos.

What is the process to get this approval?

1) A completed application with the required fee is
submitted. The Department acknowledges receipt of
the application within 10 working days.

2) The application is reviewed for completeness and
accuracy. The training provider is notified of any
deficiencies.

3) The course approval will be issued within 90 days
after the application is complete and applicable fees are
paid.

Are there any other requirements?

INTERIM APPROVAL: A training provider must
complete an application for each type of training
course and pay the applicable fee for each type of
course. The training provider must provide a copy of
the course materials, instructors’ resumes, a detailed
course outline, and demonstrate that the training
provider is able to provide training that meets the
requirements of the regulations. When hands-on
training is a requirement for a training course, the
training provider must provide extensive detail on how
this is to be accomplished.

FINAL APPROVAL.: The course will be granted final
approval after a successful on-site audit has been
completed by the Department.

How long should I expect it to take to get this
approval once | submit a complete application?

3 months

An application is not processed until the applicable fee
has been paid. A complete and accurate application
speeds up the process.

Once | get this approval, how long will it last?
Must be renewed annually

How much will this approval cost?

The fees listed below are payable by company check,
cashier’s check, certified check, or money order to the
Maryland Clean Air Fund. Public schools systems,
Maryland School for the Deaf, Department of Health
and Mental Hygiene schools, Department of Juvenile
Justice schools, and Maryland Department of the
Environment do not pay any fees. Fees are neither
refundable nor pro-rated.

The fee is $200 per day, or portion thereof, of approved
training. For example a 5 day supervisor's course
would cost $1,000 for the annual application fee. There
are no fees for the operation and maintenance
applications.

Who do | contact with additional questions?
Lorraine Anderson

Asbestos Division (410) 537-3200
lorraine.anderson@maryland.gov

Related link:
https://mde.maryland.gov/airpermits
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