
3.16 DRINKING WATER SAMPLER CERTIFICATION 

 Question: Will I take drinking water samples as part of my job or to satisfy any legal requirements?

Why do I need this approval? 

This certification assures the reliability of the Safe 
Drinking Water Act compliance samples submitted to 
state certified laboratories.   Performing the required 
sampling and testing of public water systems is the 
primary means of evaluating the safety of the drinking 
water supply.  
The certification is for individuals collecting samples 
for Safe Drinking Water Act Compliance, including 
laboratory personnel, municipal and private water 
system operators and superintendents, county and state 
health department staff, and other individuals who 
collect samples for public drinking water systems.  Due 
to limited class capacity, this certification will no 
longer be provided for individuals not specified above. 

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal 
authority to issue this approval? 

FEDERAL: Safe Drinking Water Act; 40 Code of 
Federal Regulations 141.28 
STATE: Environment Article, Title 9 subtitle 10; 
COMAR 26.08.05. 

What is the process to get this approval? 

1) An applicant registers to attend a certification class.
For class scheduling and registration at the
Department, contact the Water Supply Program at
(410) 537-3729.
Provide your name, company, phone number and
previous certification number.
The following local county health departments also
schedule classes: Allegany, Anne Arundel, Carroll,
Cecil, Charles, Frederick, Kent, Montgomery, St.
Mary’s, Washington, Wicomico, and Worcester.  For
class registration, please contact the county health
department.

2) At the end of the four-hour certification class, an
examination is given.
3) Upon passing the examination, the applicant is
issued a certification card.

Are there any other requirements? 

• High school education
• No experience required

How long should I expect it to take to get this 
approval once I submit a complete application? 

Certification cards will be distributed by mail, upon 
passing the class.

Once I get this approval, how long will it last? 
Maximum of three years 
Those who have been certified within the past three 
years are exempt from the practical exam.  Those 
who do not pass the examination, are required to 
repeat the class. Staff in 12 counties are re-trained 
annually to offer the certification. 

How much will this approval cost? 

MDE has subsidized the cost of the classes so that 
registration can be affordable to those who perform 
primacy-related work. Fees are based on the 7 student 
categories below. Categories 1-6 require additional 
verifying information during registration.

1. An employee or operator of a public drinking
water system in Maryland – $25

2. An employee of a State Agency of Maryland –
$25

3. An employee of a laboratory certified for
drinking water analysis by Maryland – $25

4. An employee of a well drilling operation – $25
5. An employee of the Maryland Department of the

Environment – $ free
6. An employee of a County Environmental Health

Program – $ free
7. None of the above – $125

Do I need to know any additional information? 

An annual calendar of classes scheduled throughout 
Maryland is at: 
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/water/
water_supply/Pages/drinkingwater.aspx 

Who do I contact with additional questions? 

Water Supply Program 
watersupply@maryland.gov 

(410) 537-3729
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