Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission

History, Charge and Term

The Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission was created by statute in 1994 (Chapter 114, Acts of 1994). The Commission studies and collects information on the effectiveness of the Lead Poisoning Prevention Program and current risk reduction treatments in reducing exposure to lead as well as risk and liability issues including availability of insurance. (Environment Article, Secs. 6-801, 6-848)

The Commission consists of nineteen members who serve four-year terms. Seventeen of these, including the chair, are appointed by the Governor. One is a member of the Senate named by the Senate President and one is a delegate chosen by the House Speaker. (Environment Article, Secs. 6-807 through 6-810)

Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Annual Report, 2017 pdf icon
Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Annual Report, 2016 pdf icon
Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Annual Report, 2015 pdf icon
Report to the Governor by the Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission, 2001 pdf icon


Current Membership

Nancy Egan, Esq., Mary Beth Haller, Susan DiGaetano-Kleinhammer, Edward Landon, Patricia McLaine, DrPH, MPH, RN, Clifford Mitchell, MD, Paula Montgomery, Barbara Moore, MSN, RN, Christina Peusch, Leonidas A. Newton, Adam D. Skolnik, John J. Scott, Jr., Ms. Manjula Paul, Ms. Anna L. Davis, JD, MPH, Senator Nathaniel Oaks.

Vacant Positions:  a member of the Maryland House of Delegates, a representative of a financial institution that makes loans secured by a rental property, a representative of owners of rental property located outside Baltimore City built before 1950, and Parent of a Lead Poisoned Child

Commission Overview pdf icon
CV Form pdf icon


Meeting Schedule

The Commission meets the first Thursday of each month.  Meetings are from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. at MDE. Exceptions are listed in the meeting schedule.

Please confirm your attendance with Pet Grant-Lloyd at Pet.Grant@maryland.gov or 410-537-3847.  

Meeting Schedule pdf icon


Meeting Minutes

Meeting Minutes 


MDE Contact

Paula Montgomery, MDE, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore MD 21230, Paula.Montgomery@maryland.gov, 410-537-3317, toll free in Maryland 800-776-2706 ext. 3441 or fax 410-537-3156.​